No, you would need to log on first. After the amount of idle minutes you set, the screen saver will then run.
If you have the On resume, display logon screen
option checked, then it will require that you must log back in to be able to access the computer again when you or someone resumes from the screens saver once it runs. This way you would not have to worry about someone having unauthorized access to the computer.