Windows 7 Forums

Welcome to Windows 7 Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find support and solutions for any problems regarding your Windows 7 PC be it Dell, HP, Acer, Asus or a custom build. We also provide an extensive Windows 7 tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.


Windows 7: Change Backup Content after original setup??

29 Oct 2010   #1
KenC42

Windows 7 ultimate 64
 
 
Change Backup Content after original setup??

I am running Window 7 Ultimate 64 bit. I set-up my scheduled Windows Backup originally to include some files as well as to do a system image. I now want to eliminate the file backup and do only a system image because of concern about disk space. However, when I go into "Change Settings" it is no longer possible to change the content of the backup.

Anybody know how to do this?


My System SpecsSystem Spec
.
29 Oct 2010   #2
richc46

Microsoft Community Contributor Award Recipient

Windows 10, Home Clean Install
 
 

Will these fine tutorials help?
Restore Backup Files - Enable or Disable
My System SpecsSystem Spec
29 Oct 2010   #3
KenC42

Windows 7 ultimate 64
 
 

Thanks for the response; however, that seems not to do it for me. I checked the Policy editor and found that under Backup - client all were set to "Not configured" which aparently means that all are allowed. Changing any of these to enabled would only limit my options. I just want to change WHAT is backed up to system image only. Right now I'm getting the image plus all user files. I don't see how changing these Policy editor options allows me to do that. It seem that I need to get back to the point of running the original setup wizard?
My System SpecsSystem Spec
.

29 Oct 2010   #4
KenC42

Windows 7 ultimate 64
 
 

I found the answer in another forum; look here:

Backup User and System Files - Reset to Default Configuration[2]=Backup Restore
My System SpecsSystem Spec
29 Oct 2010   #5
richc46

Microsoft Community Contributor Award Recipient

Windows 10, Home Clean Install
 
 

Those tuts are priceless, used everywhere. Glad that it all worked out.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

 Change Backup Content after original setup??




Thread Tools






Similar help and support threads
Thread Forum
Windows will not boot. How do I backup user folders/desktop content?
I have an issue where windows hangs on the boot screen (window icon). My PC began rebooting and crashing recently and this is the final straw where it will not load. I have multiple hard drives, so I can install windows onto another drive. My question is: how do I get access to the content on...
General Discussion
Event Viewer Reading Backup Logs Instead of Original
Windows Home Premium SP1 64 bit When opening Win 7 Event Viewer, in the Summary of Administrative Events window, it's reading the "Microsoft windowsbackup/ActionCenter log". Shouldn't it instead be reading the original logs? Application, System, Security, etc. ? When I click on these logs...
Performance & Maintenance
Advisable? Delete/remove Original user acct, setup new
I do tech work and sometimes trade in machines. The one in question is an ordinary emachines desktop with win7 home premium x64. It has one account on it which appears to be the original setup. I'm debating start from scratch clean install vs remove/uninstall stuff, create new admin user acct,...
Installation & Setup
Cropped and resized images keep original content
As you can see in the image below, Windows kept the original image content altough I have cropped and resized it. And what is more strange is that it doesn't happen all the time. Any ideas on why this happens? Maybe Windows cache stuff? Or maybe info inside the image itself? TIA for your...
Music, Pictures & Video
Backup Files order different from original
My original files order on C:\Romans is as follows. I copied the files to USB flash drive G by drag and drop. The backup files order on drive G is different from C drive. e.g. Romans14.mp3 becomes the first file listed on drive G. Why? How to fix this problem? Microsoft Windows Copyright...
General Discussion
Wipe Windows 7 to original setup condition?
Hi I am going to sell my laptop (with windows 7 ultimate x64) and I am trying to completely wipe everything I have done to it other than tho OS. Is there a way I can do this without reinstalling the OS? My windows seven disc is a one license and has been used up... Thanks!
Installation & Setup


Our Sites

Site Links

About Us

Find Us

Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:39.

Twitter Facebook Google+



Windows 7 Forums

Seven Forums Android App Seven Forums IOS App