Hi hollyoaks777, the answer to your first question is YES, Acronis does. Thats why you have the option to download the user guide from the install .exe file (before or after ) installing.
The easiest thing you can do is attempt a system restore. Now read the user guide. Backups/Images should NEVER be moved or defragged, so set where you want them kept beforehand.