You can disable that task. Restore points aren't deleted if you do it. But why do you want to disable it????
- Restore points will be created anyway when install windows updates, uninstall/install software.
Restore points are automatically created by System Restore daily
(only if no restore point has been created last 7 days) and when System Restore detects the beginning of a change to your computer, such as when you install a program or a driver
Why do you want to disable it?