Windows 7 Forums

Welcome to Windows 7 Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find support and solutions for any problems regarding your Windows 7 PC be it Dell, HP, Acer, Asus or a custom build. We also provide an extensive Windows 7 tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.


Windows 7: can i accidentally delete same named files during backup?

19 Feb 2013   #1
fireman0175

windows 7 ultimate x64
 
 
can i accidentally delete same named files during backup?

Hi, I have windows 7/64 ultimate on a Dell XPS 1640. I back up to a seagate HD remote. My concern is that my camera seems to name the picture file names the same after I upload them to my laptop. I do know it asks me if I want to erase or make a second copy of the same named picture. I think it adds something like (1) to the file name.

Anyway, my concern is that if I have a picture file on my remote backup drive and I do a system backup, could I be erasing files with the same name and replacing them with the new file? Thus, losing important files I had already backed up?


My System SpecsSystem Spec
.
20 Feb 2013   #2
kado897

Microsoft Community Contributor Award Recipient

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit Service Pack 1
 
 

Hi fireman and welcome to Seven Forums. I assume that you are using the built in Windows Backup. If that is the case then you will not overwrite files already backed up. The backed up files are stored in such a way that you can have more than one version of the same file.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
22 Feb 2013   #3
fireman0175

windows 7 ultimate x64
 
 

Oh great! Thanks for the tidbit.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
.

22 Feb 2013   #4
kado897

Microsoft Community Contributor Award Recipient

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit Service Pack 1
 
 

You are welcome.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
22 Feb 2013   #5
marsmimar

Microsoft Community Contributor Award Recipient

 
 

Just a bit of info about the Windows 7 backup/system image utility. If you're creating a system image, by default that image is named WindowsImageBackup by Windows 7. If you try to create a second system image, it will overwrite the original WindowsImageBackup with whatever data has changed between the first and second image. So if you want to keep multiple images, the easiest way is to rename each WindowsImageBackup to something else. (I rename mine to WIB-date created; eg: WIB022213.) If I ever need to use a particular image I rename it back to WindowsImageBackup so it will be recognized by Windows 7.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
22 Feb 2013   #6
kado897

Microsoft Community Contributor Award Recipient

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit Service Pack 1
 
 

What I was talking about was the file and folder backup, but even the image backup can hold multiple images. It reserves up to 30% of the destination disk to hold images and will store as many as it can in that. You only see the one WindowsImageBackup folder which contains the last full image. The remainder are held as differentials in shadow storage. When the 30% allocation is full the oldest is replaced. You can chose to only save the latest image, in which case what you say is true. Some people here, me included, do that as they do not trust the shadow storage solution.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

 can i accidentally delete same named files during backup?




Thread Tools




Similar help and support threads
Thread Forum
Can't delete old backup files
I installed Windows 7 last year, 6/2013, and now I notice my external hard drive is filled with old wbverify and wbcat files from that time. I'm unable to delete them. I get a message that they cannot be found. I turned of the automatic system backup a few months ago but these files are all from...
Backup and Restore
how do I delete files from my backup disk ?
After downloading the latest updates for Google Earth, I began getting a msg saying that "there is not enough disk space on your backup disk." When I attempted to clean it up, I was unable to free up any space. I have a LENOVO 570; the backup disk is labeled: Lenovo: D It says I have @ 10.6MB...
Performance & Maintenance
How Do I Delete old Windows Backup Files ?
I had windows 7 keep giving me a blue screen more often than not. I decided to reinstall windows. All went well and I don't get any blue screens. Now most of my 500g drive is 2 files (windows.old and windows.old.000). Now I don't have any room to backup my computer. These 2 files take up about...
Backup and Restore
How can I delete backup files from DVD discs
I am using Windows 7 64-bit OS. I have amassed a large collection of backup discs that has information that is no longer on my computer. I cannot seem to delete the information so I can reuse the disc. I insert the disc and delete all the files that are on it and at the bottom of the window it...
Backup and Restore
How to backup files and delete old windows
Hi, i want to to re install windows 7 but i only have one drive to backup my files, the files are over 90gb. So when i install windows 7, it will format my drive and remove and install new windows 7, so does that mean the 90gb of my files will also be removed when it formats?
Backup and Restore
Delete single files from Backup?
I'm using WIN 7 backup. I know I can delete a whole backup folder, but is there a way to selectively delete single files? Than ks!
Backup and Restore


Our Sites

Site Links

About Us

Find Us

Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44.

Twitter Facebook Google+



Windows 7 Forums

Seven Forums Android App Seven Forums IOS App