Windows 7 Forums


Windows 7: Is this legitimate?

18 Nov 2010  
Crispy

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1 (Build 6.1.7601)
1,115 posts
Aus, Qld
 
 
Is this legitimate?

I tried logging into Gmail the other day, I keep getting this message. I have emailed Google about this but I have got no reply so far, I don't really want to give out my personal information online.



My System SpecsSystem Spec

18 Nov 2010  
Lemur

Systems 1 and 2: Windows 7 Enterprise x64, Win 8 Developer
3,230 posts
University of Kentucky
 
 

Getting an email to verify from Google is not unusual. BUT, you must make sure the URL is from Google. In your screen capture, it does have a Google URL. It's legit.

How it works : Verifying Your Google Account - Accounts Help
My System SpecsSystem Spec
18 Nov 2010  
yowanvista

Win7 Ultimate SP1 x64 / Windows 8 Pro / Android
8,399 posts
Mauritius
 
 

Quote   Quote: Originally Posted by Crispy View Post
I tried logging into Gmail the other day, I keep getting this message. I have emailed Google about this but I have got no reply so far, I don't really want to give out my personal information online.

It looks to be legit but as the message suggest your account may have been accessed by another person
My System SpecsSystem Spec
.


18 Nov 2010  
Prof Kerfuffle

Windows 7 Professional (x64/SP1) / XP Pro
457 posts
4th planet from the sun
 
 

Do note I had to do this and its to reduce spam accounts, that's why they do it
Gmail account Mobile number verification
My System SpecsSystem Spec
18 Nov 2010  
xarden

Windows 7 Enterprise
973 posts
Auckland
 
 

Looks legit to me.
Key is in the https://www.google.com/, and the padlock in the BRight corner.

Have you done any unusual activities recently? Such as send more mail in a week than your average?
It happened a few months ago with my paypal account. Been dormant for over a year, then I made a single US$25 payment to somewhere and I got this same message (from paypal, of course) I had to reauthenticate twice to release the payment.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
18 Nov 2010  
Manigue

Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bits SP1
175 posts
Pocomoke City, Maryland
 
 

Noticed your browser is Firefox.

Give the "FlagFox" add-on a try. Once installed it will display the flag of the country where the server is located in the address bar. Then, when you right click on the flag, you can select the "Whois" option from the pulldown menu.

Another page/tab will open showing you very useful information about the link in question.

The information may help you determine the validity of the Google link.

Just another way that Firefox add-ons help clarify mysterious things on the web.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
19 Nov 2010  
Crispy

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1 (Build 6.1.7601)
1,115 posts
Aus, Qld
 
 

Well I ended up getting in contact with google and the funny thing was, they gave me a link witch I had already tried and this time it came up with something different :S anyway I can access my email now .
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

 Is this legitimate? problems?



Thread Tools



Similar help and support threads for: Is this legitimate?
Thread Forum
Driver Updaters - legitimate? Drivers
Solved Can the Legitimate logonui.exe be used maliciously? System Security
fraudulent or legitimate? System Security
Is this a legitimate driver? Drivers
Pirate to Legitimate version Installation & Setup


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.



Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized,
sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation.
"Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.
© Designer Media Ltd