Looks to me like some Extension or setting that modifies what's to be shown.
I assume the easiest way to get back to the basics would be this way:
(The "regular" uninstall doesn't get rid of your personal settings/files)
Delete C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Local\Google
to make sure you got it all
Then re-install Chrome and see if that worked.