I wonder if there is a better way to do what I tried to do and failed.
There were two contacts lists: "All contacts" and "Favorites." (I added the "Stick Customers" list later.)
I dragged some (I selected a bunch, holding down the Shift key) contacts from the former list into the latter. It says you MOVE them that way so I assumed they would be automatically reMOVEd from "All contacts." They were still there so I guess they were COPIED and not "Moved."
SO, I deleted them from "All contacts" and BINGO; they were gone from BOTH lists; never to be seen again. OUCH!!
I sure miss Outlook Express! It was SO nice.
bottom line: can I MOVE them somehow?