The $UPGRADE.~OS Folder contains the temp. installation files when you upgraded from your previous OS. Do NOT delete them manually. Perform a disk clean up, (Check the tick box where it says 'Temporary OS upgrade files (it might differ)' or something) and the folder will disappear. I'm not sure about that second folder, can u post a screen shot once your inside the folder?
Hope this helps,