And there SHOULD BE an important lesson here: DO A REGULAR BACKUP, PREFERABLY TO AN EXTERNAL DEVICE. This way, you will minimize the chances of losing important data.
WimYogya - you stated you used 2 different file recovery programs. What messages, if any did they display or log?
What happens when you delete a file, is that the file really isn't deleted. Instead the first character of the file name gets nulled out, making it invisible to the OS. Then you save a file, and it writes to the first available space. And if that space happens to be where your file was, then it's gone.
Here is a fairly good explanation: Forensics: What happens when files are deleted? « Where is Your Data?
see also: What Really Happens When You Press The Delete Button |