Windows 7 Forums

Welcome to Windows 7 Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find support and solutions for any problems regarding your Windows 7 PC be it Dell, HP, Acer, Asus or a custom build. We also provide an extensive Windows 7 tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.


Windows 7: How do I restore the .exe files deletion warning popup in Win7 ?

06 Nov 2011   #1
pastorsalici

Windows 7 Ultimate 32
 
 
How do I restore the .exe files deletion warning popup in Win7 ?

When you delete an .exe file, Win7 opens a popup warning and it's got a selection box to "don't ask again for all files of this type" (or something like that).

I left unintentionaly the selection on, and as a result the popup warning is not opening, and .exe files are deleted in just one step.

Is there a way to restore the popup warning ?

Thanks a lot


My System SpecsSystem Spec
.
06 Nov 2011   #2
Jerryw

Win 7 Ultimate sp-1 64 Bit+Vista Ultimate sp-2 64 Bit
 
 

Hi
Go to recycle Bin open it right click in the middle and
select properties its at the bottom of the pop-up put a check in the box
Good Luck
My System SpecsSystem Spec
06 Nov 2011   #3
Britton30
Microsoft MVP

Windows 7 Ultimate X64 SP1
 
 

Hello, what program are you using to delete.exe files? I just tried that and have no check-box.
Here is what Jerry referred to----
Name:  Recyclebin.PNG
Views: 4
Size:  42.7 KB


My System SpecsSystem Spec
.

07 Nov 2011   #4
pastorsalici

Windows 7 Ultimate 32
 
 

Thank you Britton30 & Jerryw !

I had never unchecked the "Display delete confirmation" at the recycle bin, it is checked.

The warning message appeared only once in my recently installed win7 notebook, but that time it came with a check in the "don't ask again for this kind of files" and I did'n uncheck it, so it never apeared again. In my desktop I DID uncheck the box and every time I want to delete a .exe file the popup shows up.

I think there must be something whithin the register, but haven't found it yet.

There was a similar case in Outlook 2007, for previewing attached files, if you uncheck the warning box, then that screen never appeared again and you had no chance to re check the box. To solve it you must delete a register item associated with the file extension.

Thanks again for your time, hope weŽll find a way.
Regards
My System SpecsSystem Spec
07 Nov 2011   #5
Britton30
Microsoft MVP

Windows 7 Ultimate X64 SP1
 
 

does the confirmation window pop up when you delete other file types?
My System SpecsSystem Spec
08 Nov 2011   #6
pastorsalici

Windows 7 Ultimate 32
 
 

Britton30, thanks for your response.

When I delete ANY file, a window shows up with the message: "Are you sure you want to move this file to the Recycle Bin ?".
When I shift-delete ANY file, a window shows up with the message: "Are you sure you want to permanently delete this file ?".

The FIRST time I shift-deleted an .exe file, this window showed up, and when I answered "yes", there showed up another popup window with a message "Are you sure you want to delete an application file?" (maybe the text is not exact but this was the idea); this popup window had a check box in it with the choice: "don't ask again for this kind of files" (maybe the text is not exact but this was the idea), the check box was selected. When I clicked "yes" to the question "Are you sure...application file", I didnŽt uncheck the check box.

Next time (and subsequent times) I shift-delete an .exe file, the first popup window shows (the one with the question for permanently delete...) but when I answer "yes" the file is deleted without further questions.

Now I realize I should have unchecked the selection box "don't ask again...", to preserve the extra question.

Hope I made me clear this time, if not, please let me know.

Thanks A LOT for your time !
Regards
My System SpecsSystem Spec
08 Nov 2011   #7
Britton30
Microsoft MVP

Windows 7 Ultimate X64 SP1
 
 

No, I understood it was only for the .exe files. What you are describing is what happens when I use shift/delete as well. No check boxes with that nor moving to the Bin nor right-click-delete. I am not seeing the second window.
Name:  Untitled.png
Views: 2
Size:  45.0 KB


My System SpecsSystem Spec
09 Nov 2011   #8
debugged

Windows 7
 
 

These "Are you sure..." type of message boxes can be created by non-Windows software. Could be your installed security software was asking about deleting .exe files and you could restore that message box by wading through its settings and finding the right box to tick.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

 How do I restore the .exe files deletion warning popup in Win7 ?




Thread Tools




Similar help and support threads
Thread Forum
xp and win7 on separate drives - system restore points deletion?
Hello, new user here! I've been looking at the tutorial "System Restore Points - Stop XP Dual Boot Delete" Does the deletion of restore points described there also occur when xp and win7 have been separately installed on two different physical drives (with the xp drive disconnected when 7 was...
Performance & Maintenance
Backup and Restore: restore files in Recycler (Win7 Enterprise x64)
Hi: I have a Win 7 Enterprise Pro x64 laptop. Most of the files in my recycler/recycle bin mysteriously disappeared a few days back (I am guessing some OS quirk since desktop.ini also seems to have been modified then, though everything is still running smoothly). So I want to get those files...
Backup and Restore
Creating a Files log deletion
I see there is no log in windows 7 about the deleted files I often use the shift + delete to delete files I do not need, unfortunately sometimes the parent folder gets deleted instead (focus on the left tree area instead of the right list area) at least, a list of the deleted files would be...
General Discussion
Restore files after accedental partiition deletion
Heres the deal: 2 drives: 1TB WD where all my files are 120 OCZ SSD were I load my O/S from I was quickly going thru the motions of installing windows and got to the part about where I wanted it. I deleted the entire partition table in both of my drives. Quickly realizing what I did, I...
Backup and Restore
System restore Points--Auto deletion?
Hi, I recently formated and reloaded Win 7 64 bit from the OS DVD which came with my Dell E6420 laptop. A few hours back when I went to CP--Recovery I noticed a number of restore points during the various stages of Win 7 updates. Just on the run, I created a new restore point, just incase. Now,...
Backup and Restore
security warning popup on webpages
Hi: I've got an annoying popup that comes up whenever I access a webpage (for instance, Walmart or Kmart). I can't seem to find out how to get rid of it. Here's the popup: Security Warning Do you want to view only the webpage content that was delivered securely? This webpage contains...
System Security


Our Sites

Site Links

About Us

Find Us

Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

© Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:13.

Twitter Facebook Google+



Windows 7 Forums

Seven Forums Android App Seven Forums IOS App