I have a peculiar problem that I hope you can help with. After coming home from an 18 day holiday, I switched my computer on, after an inordinately long time when the screen was displaying "Preparing your Desktop" I was given a screen that had very few icons on and a legend that stated that I had been given a temporary profile and and any alterations I made would be cancelled on closure. Restart would not help. However (and here is the odd part) if I close down the computer and then switch off at the mains, leaving it off for a minimum of 1/2 an hour (any less doesn't work) the computer will boot up as normal??? Any future restarts or software on/off will result in temporary profile again.
Whilst I can live with this, it doesn't seem right.
Regards, Philip Church
Running: Windows 7 premium (sp1)
On an HP P6-2065 with Intel d/core 17-2600 and 4g of ram