Windows 7 Forums

Welcome to Windows 7 Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find support and solutions for any problems regarding your Windows 7 PC be it Dell, HP, Acer, Asus or a custom build. We also provide an extensive Windows 7 tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.


Windows 7: Deleted files from new user = deleted files on old user

03 Dec 2013   #1
drvenkman

Win7 Pro 64
 
 
Deleted files from new user = deleted files on old user

Hello,

Im not sure what happened here, but I created a new user on my pc. And when it got to their desktop there was a bunch of files there that were on my desktop. I deleted those and just left chrome (thats all this person needed). Anyway, when they were done, I logged back into my account and noticed a bunch of missing files from my desktop. So, why did this do that? how do I get those files back?

tia!


My System SpecsSystem Spec
.
03 Dec 2013   #2
MilesAhead

Windows 7 32 bit
 
 

If you don't want to run a Restore Point you can use Shadow Explorer free program to extract individual files from restore points(provided there are some.) My guess is that the files on your desktop somehow got put on All Users desktop. Or it could be a Windows glitch that moved them there.

I'd try Shadow Explorer. The UI is a lot like an undelete program:
ShadowExplorer.com - About
My System SpecsSystem Spec
03 Dec 2013   #3
Kaktussoft

Microsoft Community Contributor Award Recipient

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bits 7601 Multiprocessor Free Service Pack 1
 
 

Your desktop is actually:
  • c:\users\yourname\desktop
  • c:\users\public\desktop
You deleted the files from folder c:\users\public\desktop !!!

Logon as the new user. Look in his "recycle bin". Restore the files you want.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
.

03 Dec 2013   #4
MilesAhead

Windows 7 32 bit
 
 

If you held down the shift key during deletion, get them with ShadowExplorer.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

 Deleted files from new user = deleted files on old user




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search




Similar help and support threads
Thread Forum
Files get deleted with Network Boot (Need autostart of files)
Hi there, Sorry if this is in the wrong section! I recently got a new additional desktop at office that has Windows 7 Professional loaded on it. I use my laptop as the primary computer, but need to start using the desktop for other routine activities. I need to run a vbs/exe file in the...
General Discussion
Would my 'User' files be deleted when I reformat my system partition
Oh God, the title has a short character limit, I can't make myself very clear in the title. So, PLEASE READ my question. :) I'm planning to re-install my OS and I'm backing-up my files. Right now my 'User' files (Desktop, Downloads, My Pictures, My Music, My Documents, and My Videos) are...
General Discussion
Deleted user but user files are undeletable
From my husband's Admin account, I deleted my own User Account, but the account is still there (with a lock icon on it) and I am unable to delete it (gives me the message that the folder is open or in use by another program). I changed the owner to my husband (checked the box "Replace owner on...
General Discussion
Random crash that deleted User Account and all files.
HP G62 Notebook Sorry for the title, there was no error code. I'll explain as best i can as i've never seen any computer do this before. On the laptop playing football manager 2012, computer crashes. I reboot and it goes to some system recovery program (most possibly HP's own). So i reboot...
BSOD Help and Support
Recover deleted data from a deleted user account?
How to recover deleted data from an deleted user? Hi Guys, Please help I had an old user account which was corrupted, So I deleted that however forgotten to keep the files...... Is there any way I can get my old data back??:( Using Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
Chillout Room
Deleted user but files remain -- undeletable
Hey all, I just deleted a user, and I want to totally get rid of it. When given the option to keep or delete the files, I said delete. However, when I go to C:\users\ the folder is still there, and it cannot be deleted. The icon shows a little lock. As an aside, I am trying to delete the...
General Discussion


Our Sites

Site Links

About Us

Find Us

Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46.

Twitter Facebook Google+



Windows 7 Forums

Seven Forums Android App Seven Forums IOS App