No, mine shows that it's been changed as soon as I click apply.
I did have, with I think build 7048, it would keep reverting my power options after I'd change them. I would have it so my display would never turn off and it kept changing it back to turn off after 20 minutes.
That's the only related oddity I've seen.
Common question, upgrade or clean install?