Quote: Originally Posted by Shark007
When you use the reset to factory defaults of a laptop, the harddrive where the videos were stored is completely erased and the factory software (Windows) is restored to the harddrive in its original condition. It will not be possible to recover anything from before the reset was innitiated because it no longer exists.
I've no wish to get involved in an argument, but I have to question the validity of that statement. I'm under the impression that when a file is deleted, only the placeholder is removed, effectively releasing the HDD space for more data, but leaving the original file in place until it gets overwritten several times.
Last year I mistakenly deleted a partition on my hard drive that contained over 5,000 JPEG images, but Recuva enabled me to restore them successfully, so I think it's worth at least trying to get the OP's files back.