You might want to go to the Network and Sharing center and set your network type to Public. I think your PC will still show up if network discovery is turned off. Turning it off on your PC will just stop you from seeing other PC's on the network, not the other way around. If you don't need it, you could also turn off file and print sharing. If they can't see your shared folder they won't try to access it.