First off, there's nothing really wrong with either of my systems, just curious.
Simple home network of two computers both running flavors of Windows 7. Homegroup is deactivated. I share the public folders on both machines and simply map network drives. The thing is how these shares look in Computer Management Sessions. Under Sessions I see User: Guest, Computer NetVista
on my desktop computer. On my portable I see Guest, Computer: THINKPAD
And here's the rub: NetVista was my old desktop computer and THINKPAD my old portable computer. Both machines have long been replaced. My desktop computer takes the name of my old portable and my portable takes the name of my old desktop computer. But only in the Computer Management console. The Network and Sharing Center Network Map lists both machines correctly.
Any explanation of why these older machine names show up under Computer Management Sessions?