Quote: Originally Posted by Lanky0
Basically I have a desktop that is connected by Ethernet cable to my router, and laptop connected to the same router via WiFi.
I have set up homegroup on both systems, when I share a folder from the desktop and select specific people > Homegroup, the folder does share and is accessible by the laptop but when i look at the permissions set on the folder, it displays the 'Everyone' with access to full control, read and write.
So basically setting up homegroup automatically shares the folder to everybody connected to the network with full access to the shared folder.
Is there a way to stop homegroup from automatically doing this, even though I specifically set it to share with homegroup when sharing?
In my experience, setting up a Homegroup doesn't allow for sharing Library's or the User folder with Users who aren't actually in the Homegroup.
You will want to use the Public Folders for sharing with people who are part of the Network but not in the Homegroup. You can selectively place folders or files into the Public folders for network Users to have access.
If you don't want the other Users in your Homegroup to have full access to the entire User folder "Default Setting" then use the Public Folders to share with those Users and then of course, do not
allow those restricted access Users to join the Homegroup, the special Homegroup password adds another layer of security here.
You will need to go into the Sharing tab on the Public folder that you want to share and put a check mark to enable sharing for that folder.
The problem is that the entire User folder "C:\Users" is automatically shared with Everyone in the Homegroup when you join a Homegroup, this gives Everyone in the Homegroup access to everyone else's User folders, this is actually by design because Windows assumes that all Homegroup machines are trusted so the credentials for this high share level are created when you join the Homegroup.
You can choose the Stop Sharing feature on the Doc's, Pic's, Music, Video folders if you don't want to give anyone in the Homegroup access to those folders but the actual User folder is shared by default when you set up a Homegroup and it's sharing settings override the ones for the Homegroup, so if you un-share the User folder it would also un-share all the folders inside it.
It's the all or nothing approach for Windows Homegroup sharing and it's definitely not the way I would prefer to do this.