Windows 7 Forums

Welcome to Windows 7 Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find support and solutions for any problems regarding your Windows 7 PC be it Dell, HP, Acer, Asus or a custom build. We also provide an extensive Windows 7 tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.


Windows 7: Merge or delete network locations

06 Oct 2014   #1
AddisonIII

Win 7 Premium 64bit
 
 
Merge or delete network locations

Today after installing a new Asus router which is a replacement for an old "G" version linksys everything seemed to be working as expected. I noticed that my network name showed up in a few area's with a 2 after the name. Reading some articles it seems that this is pretty common with win7 and not harmful but can be changed by removing the 2. The change was made but while doing it when you left click your network where you can change the name as well as icon, there is a button that says Merge or delete network locations. Its in this location where my question comes in. there are three connections listed the first being NB2-WXDL.test ....Managed. the next 2 are both the same which is my network name. The only thing different that I can see is the first is listed as not in use... unmanaged. the last one is showing in use... unmanaged. From searching the internet about this, it seems that the ones not being used can be safely deleted. I'm not one to do so blindly and wonder what your view is on this subject. Also as for the first network location name I have no idea what this is or how it got here. This laptop I bought new and have had it for 2 plus years.


My System SpecsSystem Spec
.
08 Oct 2014   #2
Sergeant Steve

Windows 7 Ultimate x64
 
 

Deleting a network that way is harmless. The only damage you can do is if you delete the one that's in use then you need to enter the network key again, same for the other networks.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
08 Oct 2014   #3
AddisonIII

Win 7 Premium 64bit
 
 

Thank you for responding to my question. I took your advise and it worked like a charm.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
.

08 Oct 2014   #4
Sergeant Steve

Windows 7 Ultimate x64
 
 

No Problem, it'd be great if you can mark this as solved so people can skip by it when looking at posts
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

 Merge or delete network locations




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search




Similar help and support threads
Thread Forum
Rename, Delete or Merge your Network Connections
:tip: To merge, delete, rename or change the icon for network locations in Windows 7.... 1) Open the "Control Panel" 2) Select and open "Network and Sharing Center" 3)Click on the "Icon" under "View your active networks". This will open the "Set Network Properties" dialogue. Here you...
Network & Sharing
Two new locations showing in Network?
Those last two--where could they have come from? http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v247/brinkeguthrie/Clipboard01_zps160e4e68.jpg
General Discussion
Indexing network share locations
Hi, I am running Win7 64-bit on my main PC. I also have a fileserver running Fedora 9/Samba that houses all our documents, video, music, and pictures. I have mapped network drives to these locations. I have no issues at all accessing the remote shares, either through UNC path, or through the...
Network & Sharing
Lost network locations
OK I am running an MSI netbook with windows 7 starter, please bear with me as I am a bit of a windows noob. I had the machine setup so that I could see all the machines on my home network connected down the side under 'network'. They all belonged to the same workgroup and I could download and...
Network & Sharing
Managing Network Locations
I do not know where to look to find list of network locations. In Vista I could find and delete network locations. My network name has changed and while it shows up properly when connected via wireless, when I use the Lan connection it shows up under the old network name. When I try to leave my...
Network & Sharing
Merge or Delete Partition witn Windows 7 Install?
I will be upgrading my Vista-64 bit OS to Windows 7 when I get my pre-ordered copy in late October. The laptop currently has an used partition to the left of the Vista OS partition (as seen by Disk Management). When I install Windows 7 will I be able to delete and/or merge those two partitions?
Installation & Setup


Our Sites

Site Links

About Us

Find Us

Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34.

Twitter Facebook Google+



Windows 7 Forums

Seven Forums Android App Seven Forums IOS App