Windows 7 Forums

Welcome to Windows 7 Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find support and solutions for any problems regarding your Windows 7 PC be it Dell, HP, Acer, Asus or a custom build. We also provide an extensive Windows 7 tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.


Windows 7: Does delete a folder on the home network from a backup disk effect all

21 Aug 2015   #1
loninappleton

Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
 
 
Does delete a folder on the home network from a backup disk effect all

That's my limit for a subject line.

The question is simple:

I have two nodes on a small home network Workgroup. I have backup hds. I wish to delete a network
folder on one of my backups.

The question is: Does this effect other nodes on the network-- will the deletion take place on both machines?

I simply want to regain the backup HD as a scratch disk for a task that takes lots of volume: video editing using the program Virtual Dub 1.10.4.


My System SpecsSystem Spec
.
21 Aug 2015   #2
GokAy

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
 
 

I have hard time understanding what you mean. If what you are deleting resides on some other place too, then it is safe to delete. But if you have it on only the HDD and you access it with the other PC as a share, then deleting it at the source will delete them for good for both PCs. Hope it is clear.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
21 Aug 2015   #3
loninappleton

Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
 
 

Ok, simply put: Can I just take this backup drive off of network access? It has become a work disk and I need the space.

Do I have to reformat, reinstall? Since I have program content on it which is recently updated I'd just want to get the 'network' folders deleted and free up that space.

Where should I start to keep my desktop stuff but remove the network and it's shared folder from this backup disk?

I'm worried about erasing things on the other network machine I have since it is shared. I want to do this carefully.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
.

22 Aug 2015   #4
GokAy

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
 
 

Any backup drives you can take off, yes. Anything that is a backup is safe to delete but there is the risk of losing data when/if the originals get lost while having no backups.

If you installed programs on that harddisk, then you will need to re-install them to another place too.

To be honest, just get a new external drive for your needs and leave your backups alone. Maybe others will have better insight.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
22 Aug 2015   #5
Layback Bear

Windows 7 Pro. 64/SP-1
 
 

I will give it a try. Hopefully I understand the question.

If you have xxx on a drive/partition you can remove it. It doesn't matter how you are sharing or networking. As long as you have access. Once that xxx is removed from the drive/partition it is no longer accessible by any normal means. (It's gone)
If you also have xxx located on another drive or partition it will still be at that location.

To put it another way.
If you have xxx on two drives/partition (copy) and you remove it from one of the drives/partitions a copy will still be on the other drive/partition.
If you want xxx removed from both location then you will have to do that location at a time.

Hope this helps.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
22 Aug 2015   #6
loninappleton

Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
 
 

Maybe the wording here is wrong. I have re-purposed an old HD that is too small for current needs.
I have my primary 500Gb and it's backup 500 Gb. Previously I was using 320's and the discussion is about one of those.

My concern is any deletions that would affect the other node of the workgroup.

I suppose I could do a sample 'sacrifice file and see if anything happens across the network.
Across the network then is the key phrase. I want to avoid any damage to that. All this hand- wringing is because I don't understand how shared folders can effect each other.

I cannot, for instance, go into safe mode on the 320 standalone (off the workgroup) and do any deletions to get more space. This is how my questions arise.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

 Does delete a folder on the home network from a backup disk effect all




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search




Similar help and support threads
Thread Forum
Can not delete Backup-catalogs folder or files
While deleting files from my external Backup Folder I can not delete the folder or files from the Catalogs folder. In safe mode I see there are a number of files and one has a locked icon.
Backup and Restore
Window backup creates a folder that I cannot delete
I ran windows backup to create an image. The program created a folder on my external drive (William-PC) that I cannot delete. Tried regular delete, didn't work. Tried "Take Ownership", didn't work. Went to the command window started with administrator and tried RD, didn't work. Went to the built in...
Backup and Restore
Delete a backup disk?
I have 2 questions.. Running Win7 Home Premium on a HP desktop, current with all Windows Update patches. 1. I have been using Windows Backup for a couple of years to back up this PC to a 1TB external HD. The HD contains a system image and several backups. I replaced the 1TB external HD with a...
Backup and Restore
how do I delete files from my backup disk ?
After downloading the latest updates for Google Earth, I began getting a msg saying that "there is not enough disk space on your backup disk." When I attempted to clean it up, I was unable to free up any space. I have a LENOVO 570; the backup disk is labeled: Lenovo: D It says I have @ 10.6MB...
Performance & Maintenance
Low Disk Space for Backup-What files can I safely delete?
Hi. Using Windows 7 Home Edition 64bit. Backup drive is an external hard drive drive. Back up drive is full with weekly backups from April 2011 to January 2012 (print screen attached). Question is, since each subsequent back up targets changes since the previous backup, can I delete the earlier...
Backup and Restore
delete backup disk image on ext.HDD
I made a backup image a couple of weeks ago using Paragon Backup & Recovery ,but since that time I have deleted about 80GB of files. I don't want those files put back on my C drive if I need to do a restore from image.So I want to start fresh with a clean image and then do my scheduled...
Backup and Restore


Our Sites

Site Links

About Us

Find Us

Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:17.

Twitter Facebook Google+



Windows 7 Forums

Seven Forums Android App Seven Forums IOS App