Thanks for the response chev.
I created a new user account, and then allowed this new user to "read and exec" and "write", but not "modify" and "full control".
Then, from this user account, I was able to copy and overwrite the existing file.
I need this user to only be allowed to append, but not erase, delete or overwrite existing data. Is this possible?