This will show you how to use the clean
or clean all
command on a selected disk to delete all of it's MBR
partitions, volumes, and any hidden sector information on MBR disks is overwritten.
The data on the HDD is not written over using the clean
command like it does with the clean all
command below. With the clean
command, the data on the HDD is only marked as being deleted instead and is only written over when new data is written/saved to the same location on the HDD next. OR
You could use the clean all
command (secure erase
) to do the above and also have each and every disk sector on the HDD written over and zeroed out completely to securely delete all data on the disk to help prevent the data from being able to be recovered. "Clean All" takes about an hour per 320 GB to finish running.