Windows 7 Forums
Welcome to Windows 7 Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find support and solutions for any problems regarding your Windows 7 PC be it Dell, HP, Acer, Asus or a custom build. We also provide an extensive Windows 7 tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.


Windows 7: Move XP mode to another user profile

21 Nov 2010   #1
techprodave

Win XP, Win Vista 64, Win 7 64, Mac OS X 10.6.5
 
 
Move XP mode to another user profile

I need to move my xp mode from the current user to another user. Is there an easy way to do this? I'm trying to avoid having to reinstall an app.

I don't need to use it at all on the original user's profile. But for future reference, I am curious if I could.

I know someone out there has the answer...Thanks in advance for sharing it with us.
DS/Anchorage, AK


My System SpecsSystem Spec
21 Nov 2010   #2
Kari

Microsoft Community Contributor Award Recipient

Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center
 
 

Hi DS, welcome to the Seven Forums.

This is quite easy, straight forward action. Copy the file Windows XP Mode.vhd (it's the actual XP "hard disk"), default location C:\Users\Your_Username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Virtual PC\Virtual Machines\Windows XP Mode.vhd to a public location, or to this new user's folders. Remember that AppData is a hidden folder.

Now log in as New User and create a new virtual machine choosing Use an existing virtual hard disk, choosing the copy of XP Mode you moved in previous step:

Name:  VPC_use_existing_vhd.png
Views: 93
Size:  32.0 KB

That's it. Virtual PC recognizes XP Mode virtual hard disk and can attach the base vhd automatically. Complete XP Mode is moved, with user accounts, files and apps.


Not knowing how familiar you are with creating a vm, XP Mode base and so on, here's further reading:Come back to tell how it went.

Kari


My System SpecsSystem Spec
22 Nov 2010   #3
techprodave

Win XP, Win Vista 64, Win 7 64, Mac OS X 10.6.5
 
 

Awesome!

Got it on the first try.
I copied the Windows XP Mode.vhd from the default location of the existing, working perfect, account, C:\Users\Your_Username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Virtual PC\Virtual Machines\Windows XP Mode.vhd to the public location, C:\Users\Public\

I then changed the settings for the Windows XP mode in the New User and it worked flawlessly.

Thank you so much for saving me so much time. You are to be praised!

Question: I assume I should go to the Original User and change the settings for that account to access the same public location? That way, if either user had to access the single Application we need Windows XP Mode for would be accessing the same database.

And, should I delete the original, now unused, Windows XP Mode.vhd from the Original User's account?

Thanks again.
DS/Anchorage Alaska
(Yes, I can see Sarah Palin from here )
My System SpecsSystem Spec
22 Nov 2010   #4
Kari

Microsoft Community Contributor Award Recipient

Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center
 
 

Both users can use the same XP Mode virtual hard disk. User A saves a file or installs an app, User B sees these when using XP Mode next time. No problems there. However, it's important to remember when more users are sharing a virtual machine NOT TO HIBERNATE! You must shut down, really shut down when you are done. Every time.

When you hibernate a Virtual PC virtual machine (default closing function), a so called saved state file (like hiberfile.sys in real, physical PC running Seven) is created to save the hibernation information. This file is saved in the same folder that vhd file, with the same name and extension vsv, for instance Windows XP Mode.vsv.

When user 1 for instance creates a new file or edits already existing one when user 2 has not shut down but only hibernated XP Mode, when user 2 next time logs in XP Mode reads hibernation info from that vsv file and restores XP Mode as it was when hibernated NOT SHOWING THE CHANGES USER 1 HAS MADE SINCE LAST TIME USER 2 HIBERNATED!.

Confusing, I had to read twice what I just wrote and I'm still unsure if I can understand... Hopefully you get it.


There's no need to remove original XP Mode from User 2, if you don't want to. He can use both, even at the same time. Of course, you can remove it if you want to. If you remove, delete these files:
  • Windows XP Mode.vhd
  • Windows XP Mode.vmc
  • Windows XP Mode.vsv
  • Windows XP Mode.vmc.backup
  • Windows XP Mode.vmcx
First four are located in C:\Users\Your_Username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Virtual PC\Virtual Machines\, the last one in C:\Users\Your_Username\Virtual Machines\. (.vsv and .backup do not always exist. If yes, delete when deleting XP Mode.)

Kari
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

 Move XP mode to another user profile




Thread Tools




Our Sites

Site Links

About Us

Find Us

Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.
Twitter Facebook Google+



Windows 7 Forums

Seven Forums Android App Seven Forums IOS App