Windows 7 Forums
Welcome to Windows 7 Forums. Our forum is dedicated to helping you find support and solutions for any problems regarding your Windows 7 PC be it Dell, HP, Acer, Asus or a custom build. We also provide an extensive Windows 7 tutorial section that covers a wide range of tips and tricks.


Windows 7: Files being changed when moving them

24 Jan 2011   #1
djeyewater

Windows 7 Pro x64
 
 
Files being changed when moving them

I had a folder called 'Walks' that was located as F:/Pictures/Walks
I then moved this folder to the drive root so it was F:/Walks

After moving it, it seems that many (not all) of the files in that folder have been changed. The file sizes are different, and last modified date is the date I moved the files.

Comparing one of the moved files with a file from a backup before I moved the folder, the only difference I could see was that the OWNER had been set as NETWORK SERVICE on the moved file. The filesizes are a few Kb different.

At a quick glance it appears to have affected many (but not all) .jpg files and probably all .mov files that were in the folder.

Any ideas what's going on here?


My System SpecsSystem Spec
.
24 Jan 2011   #2
logicearth

Windows 10 Pro (x64)
 
 

Are the contents of the files unaltered?
My System SpecsSystem Spec
24 Jan 2011   #3
djeyewater

Windows 7 Pro x64
 
 

I have only checked a few of the files, but the images and .mov files I did check looked the same visually. Some data must have changed though to account for the file size difference.

If I do a binary compare between one of the files in my backup software, you can see most data is the same, see attachment.


Attached Thumbnails
Files being changed when moving them-untitled-1.png  
My System SpecsSystem Spec
.

28 Jan 2011   #4
djeyewater

Windows 7 Pro x64
 
 

If no-one knows, I think I'll be safest by restoring the files from a backup. With 19711 files that got modified when I moved the folder, it looks like it will take a long time to restore though!
My System SpecsSystem Spec
28 Jan 2011   #5
FliGi7

XP / Win7 x64 Pro
 
 

If you just left-clicked and dragged the folder into the root, it will change the creation time on all the files. However, if you do a right click and drag and select copy or move, it shouldn't change any of the date and time stamps on the files.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
28 Jan 2011   #6
djeyewater

Windows 7 Pro x64
 
 

Quote   Quote: Originally Posted by FliGi7 View Post
If you just left-clicked and dragged the folder into the root, it will change the creation time on all the files. However, if you do a right click and drag and select copy or move, it shouldn't change any of the date and time stamps on the files.
I just cut the folder from its current location and then pasted it in the root.

As far as I'm aware, left click dragging to move a folder has exactly the same effect as right-click dragging or copy-pasting so long as the current location and destination are on the same partition. If they're not, then left-click dragging should copy the files instead.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
28 Jan 2011   #7
FliGi7

XP / Win7 x64 Pro
 
 

Unfortunately, in Windows 7, users have reported different file metadata changes depending on whether the files were dragged somewhere or right clicked and copied. Why, I have no idea, but there have been a couple threads on here about it.

Your screenshot shows the picture on two different partitions, although you said you just moved it to the root of the same partition. What's the discrepancy there? Doing that will change the modification date on the files.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
28 Jan 2011   #8
1Bowtie

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
 
 

Another thing always be careful with important data when moving by cut and paste, because when you cut it and you make a mistake it's gone, i always copy and paste then make sure it's where i put it then delete from the original place. Also there is no problem copying and pasteing between partitions or drive's that i know of.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
28 Jan 2011   #9
djeyewater

Windows 7 Pro x64
 
 

Quote   Quote: Originally Posted by FliGi7 View Post
Unfortunately, in Windows 7, users have reported different file metadata changes depending on whether the files were dragged somewhere or right clicked and copied. Why, I have no idea, but there have been a couple threads on here about it.

Your screenshot shows the picture on two different partitions, although you said you just moved it to the root of the same partition. What's the discrepancy there? Doing that will change the modification date on the files.
Thanks for the clarification. If other users are having problems with cut and paste (albeit different problems to me), it sounds like cut and paste in Windows 7 is just buggy.

The reason the screenshot shows one of the folders on a different partition is because I was comparing the moved folder with a backup of the folder, and the backup is on a different partition. It would be kind of difficult to compare the moved folder with itself before I moved it

Quote   Quote: Originally Posted by 1Bowtie View Post
Another thing always be careful with important data when moving by cut and paste, because when you cut it and you make a mistake it's gone, i always copy and paste then make sure it's where i put it then delete from the original place. Also there is no problem copying and pasteing between partitions or drive's that i know of.
If you cut a folder, then don't paste it anywhere, it will stay in the same location, not disappear. At least, that's how it works on my PC.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
28 Jan 2011   #10
FliGi7

XP / Win7 x64 Pro
 
 

I always do right-click, drag, and move if I want to move things so that they maintain as much original metadata as possible.

Gotcha on the file comparison. I was wondering what was going on there. Just keep in mind that metadata will certainly differ from backup to the originals for various reasons (due to the program accessing the files to move them and/or them being relocated to at least a different partition if not drive which will change the properties as well). I don't think you were confused about this, but wanted to put it out there in case.

Bottom line, I have no clue why anything should have been modified to the point of changing file size amidst the move, regardless of how it was done. This still remains a mystery to me. What A/V and backup programs are you using? It might be a case where another piece of software grabbed it mid-move to analyze it or modify it for whatever reason.
My System SpecsSystem Spec
Reply

 Files being changed when moving them




Thread Tools




Similar help and support threads
Thread Forum
How do I move the default position of "coping files/moving files" note
I have googled extensively to try to figure this out, but I don't know the correct terminology to ask this without being extremely verbose, so here goes... You know that box that always appears right in the middle of the screen, blocking all future progress until your files or folders have...
Customization
All my files have changed to READ ONLY, PLZ HELP!
Hello there, I made a thread here earlier explaining a problem I had with iTunes not opening because it says it is located on a locked drive. After looking around I discover that EVERYTHING is in read only. This has affected all my files. Most Importantly, all the libraries are protected...
General Discussion
Moving Files from HDD to SSD
I am going to move the Docs that are on my E: partition on a HDD and put them on my SSD. I am going to take the HDD out of my PC. If I call the SSD partition E: also, will my Library still connect or do I have to make a new path? Thanks,
Hardware & Devices
Files size has changed on my PC !!!
Hi I have many pictures on my PC ( about 20,000 jpg files ) that I have backed up to an external hard disk and also burned on DVD. I used beyond compare tool to compare the pictures that on my PC with the pictures that on the external drive and the DVD - all was identical. Few days ago I have...
General Discussion
Offline files doen't update files changed locally
My offline files seems to work offline all the time, even when it shows me being online. I sync most of my business files to my laptop for working at home at night. When I edit a file from my Win 7 (pro, 64-bit) laptop, then go to edit it again, I get the version I had changed, but no one else...
Network & Sharing


Our Sites

Site Links

About Us

Find Us

Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32.
Twitter Facebook Google+ Seven Forums iOS App Seven Forums Android App