How to stop popup that says files are ready to be burned to disc


  1. Posts : 3
    Windows 7 Home 64 bit
       #1

    How to stop popup that says files are ready to be burned to disc


    I am using Win 7 Home Ed 64 bit and keep getting this annoying popup and then a list of things ready to burn. I was going to burn some things to a disk then changed my mind but I keep getting a popup balloon saying I have files ready to burn. It says I can delete these temporary files, but if I delete them, will it delete them from my hard drive? I started deleting them and it showed a bar showing the process, and it said something about the recycle bin. I don't want to lose the files, just not burn them, and I am sick of the balloon notification! Please help! Oh, also I looked in the recycle bin and it seemed as if the folders/files were in there, but I am not positive because I didn't check to see what files/folders were already there. These are all photos though, so I am afraid to lose them. If they did go to the recycle bin, are my original ones still on my drive? Thanks!
      My Computer


  2. Posts : 1,476
       #2

    cteal50 said:
    I am using Win 7 Home Ed 64 bit and keep getting this annoying popup and then a list of things ready to burn. I was going to burn some things to a disk then changed my mind but I keep getting a popup balloon saying I have files ready to burn. It says I can delete these temporary files, but if I delete them, will it delete them from my hard drive? I started deleting them and it showed a bar showing the process, and it said something about the recycle bin. I don't want to lose the files, just not burn them, and I am sick of the balloon notification! Please help! Oh, also I looked in the recycle bin and it seemed as if the folders/files were in there, but I am not positive because I didn't check to see what files/folders were already there. These are all photos though, so I am afraid to lose them. If they did go to the recycle bin, are my original ones still on my drive? Thanks!
    When you delete something to the Recycle Bin, it's actually just a Move command for files. So, they're not deleted, harmed, or anything like that. The Recycle Bin was actually created for people like me who delete something and then go "Oh wait a minute! I want that back!" So, the Recycle Bin is just another location on your hard drive where files can go - except, of course, this is a special folder in Windows. Anything that's in there still exists in its original state: think of the Recycle Bin as being just a fancy folder on your hard drive.

    Another option for you instead of moving them to the Recycle Bin (by "deleting" them) would have been to just cut and paste the files out of the optical drive's folder and into a normal folder on your hard drive - or just onto the desktop, or into a folder that you could create on the desktop.

    In other words, click "Restore all items" in the Recycle Bin and then click Yes when it asks you if you're sure. After that, go into the optical drive's folder and select everything (you can just press Ctrl+A for Select All). Once all of them are selected, right-click one of the files and choose Cut. Alternatively, just press Ctrl+X immediately after Ctrl+A. Now you can paste them to any location you want.
      My Computer


  3. Posts : 3
    Windows 7 Home 64 bit
    Thread Starter
       #3

    Wow, I think that did it! That balloon was the most annoying thing! Thank you SO much! I wish I had asked this long ago! I will mark this as solved shortly if I don't see the balloon pop up again. But I believe it is gone!
      My Computer


  4. Posts : 1,476
       #4

    You're very welcome!
      My Computer


  5. Posts : 17,322
    Win 10 Pro x64
       #5
      My Computer


  6. Posts : 3
    Windows 7 Home 64 bit
    Thread Starter
       #6

    How to stop popup that says files are ready to be burned to disc


    Derekimo, thanks so much for the link. I read that first before posting but when it says to click on "delete temporary files", I was afraid it was deleting my original files. I do think they went to the recycle bin and I clicked to restore each one and when I did that, they ended up in the same place and the popup balloon was once again popping up. Also , I understand that the files/folders are kept in the recycle bin as TwoCables stated, but if you don't have a lot of room dedicated to the recycle bin, doesn't it remove them for good? Thanks and I have not seen the balloon since! :)
    Last edited by cteal50; 20 Mar 2013 at 14:53. Reason: add something for clarification
      My Computer


  7. Posts : 14,606
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 7600
       #7

    the temporary files are just copies of the originals, when you burn a disk it doesnt delete the original files.
    you have a copy on a disc.
    deleting the temp files will not remove the original, you can check this by deleting the temp files and then check to see if the original is still in the place it is saved.
    i empty my recycle bin regularly after discovering 70gb of space being used up.
    in my defence its the desktop i rarely use and the kids have taken it over as a home theater and consol.
      My Computer


 

  Related Discussions
Our Sites
Site Links
About Us
Windows 7 Forums is an independent web site and has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise approved by Microsoft Corporation. "Windows 7" and related materials are trademarks of Microsoft Corp.

Designer Media Ltd
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34.
Find Us